alvindavis99

CIP School in the Phils.

easy grammar

on August 25, 2012

Complete the following sentences using make, leave or take. 1. Can I …………………………… a suggestion? a) make b) leave c) take 2. One must not ………………………….. more than one gives. a) take b) make c) leave 3. Please …………………………. a look at this. a) make b) take c) leave 4. Can I ………………………… a message? […]

Complete the following sentences using make, leave or take. 1. Can I …………………………… a suggestion? a) make b) leave c) take 2. One must not ………………………….. more than one gives. a) take b) make c) leave 3. Please …………………………. a look at this. a) make b) take c) leave 4. Can I ………………………… a message? […]

Passive voice exercise

 

Sentences expressing request, advice, suggestion, prohibition etc., are called imperative sentences. When we change these sentences into the passive, we use reporting verbs like request, advice, suggest, prohibit, order etc.

Change the following active sentences into passive.

1. Please lend me ten pounds.

2. Kindly do this work.

3. Fetch me a glass of water.

4. Work hard to pass your examination.

5. Do not write on the wall.

6. Do it at once.

7. Let us go for a walk.

8. Let me do it.

9. You ought to respect your elders.

10. You should learn your lesson.

Answers

1. You are requested to lend me ten pounds.

2. You are requested to do this work.

3. You are ordered / requested to fetch me a glass of water.

4. You are advised to work hard to pass your examination.

5. You are forbidden to write on the wall.

6. Let it be done at once.

7. It is suggested that we should go for a walk.

8. Let it be done by me.

9. Your elders ought to be respected by you.

10. Your lesson should be learnt by you.

 

Direct and indirect speech exercise

 

A sentence has been given in direct speech. Out of the three suggested alternatives select the one which best expresses the same sentence in indirect speech.

1. James asked me ‘Did you see John yesterday?’

a) James asked me whether I did see John yesterday.

b) James asked me whether I had seen John the previous day.

c) James asked me whether I saw John the previous day.

2. Susan said to Alice ‘Ann will leave for her native place tomorrow.’

a) Susan told Alice that Ann would leave for her native place the next day.

b) Susan told Alice that Ann will leave for her native place the next day.

c) Susan told to Alice that Ann would leave for her native place the next day.

3. He said to me ‘Why are you working so hard?’

a) He asked me why are you working so hard.

b) He asked me why am I working so hard.

c) He asked me why I was working so hard.

4. She told me ‘What a hot day!’

a) She told me that it was a hot day.

b) She exclaimed that it was a hot day.

c) She said that it was a cold day.

5. The boy said to the teacher ‘Could you please repeat the question?’

a) The boy politely asked the teacher if he could repeat the question.

b) The boy asked the teacher could he please repeat the question.

c) The boy asked the teacher to repeat the question.

Answers

1. James asked me whether I had seen John the previous day.

2. Susan told Alice that Ann would leave for her native place the next day.

3. He asked me why I was working so hard.

4. She exclaimed that it was a hot day.

5. The boy politely asked the teacher if he could repeat the question.

 

Leave a Reply

