alvindavis99

CIP School in the Phils.

CAN YOU STRESS THESE? TRY

on July 21, 2012

When you are speaking English the words you stress can change the underlying meaningof a sentence. Let’s take a look at the following sentence:I don’t think he should get the job.

This simple sentence can have many levels of meaning based on the word you stress. Consider the meaning of the following sentences with the stressed word in bold. Read each sentence aloud and give a strong stress to the word in bold:

I don’t think he should get the job.
Meaning: Somebody else thinks he should get the job.

I don’t think he should get the job.
Meaning: It’s not true that I think he should get the job.

I don’t think he should get that job.
Meaning: That’s not really what I mean. OR I’m not sure he’ll get that job.

I don’t think he should get that job.
Meaning: Somebody else should get that job.

I don’t think he should get that job.
Meaning: In my opinion it’s wrong that he’s going to get that job.

I don’t think he should get that job.
Meaning: He should have to earn (be worthy of, work hard for) that job.

Leave a Reply

